So it’s been a while…

So it’s been a while…

So can someone explain to me where the last 2 (*edit now 4!) months went?

So I originally wrote this post on the 22nd of October with the intention of adding some photos and getting it out before Christmas…well that failed…! I will leave the article mostly as is, but give a few updates as and where appropriate so read on!

I seem to have just been super busy and have had very little time to put into the hobby which I’ve been really disappointed with because I feel like I had got into a really productive place, especially with my painting.

Well these periods of time in life do happen and I know I am still incredibly busy with weddings, stag do’s and general Christmas stuff coming up (and now gone!) leaving me with very few weekends/evenings to spend much time on the hobby. I think I will just have to accept that I have not had a productive hobby few months but I am determined to get back in the saddle and complete at least a few things before the end of the year arrives.

So where did I get to last time…?

So to do a mini catch up with a “Last time on MiniatureMinded”, I had got back into painting some of my Warhammer Quest: The Silver Tower foes and I did manage get a few more done way back at the end of August. I managed to get the 4 Brimstone Horrors painted up (following Duncan’s helpful guide on Youtube), as well as 4 of the 8 Kairic Acolytes and I am really pleased with how they came out. Check them out below!

Kairic Acolytes
Kairic Acolytes
Brimstone Horrors
Brimstone Horrors

In terms of other projects I have completed whilst I have been away from keyboard, I picked up a copy of the Tooth & Claw boxed set to add the new models to my Genestealer Cult army and split the box with my friend who is conveniently playing Space Wolves which was great. I also managed to pick up Belladonna the Necromunda Hired Gun off a guy on Facebook so built her as well so I have every Hired Gun mini except 1 who I will pick up next time I visit Forge World I am sure!

More recently…

So I finally fell to the hobby temptation again last week after not having spent anything on the hobby in September (quite impressive in recent years!). I ordered the Imperial Knights codex, along with a box of Helverins and a box of Primaris Hellblasters. I picked up the Hellblasters as I have always loved how the heavy plasma incinerators look, even if they aren’t the most effective. I have built one of the Helverins so far and you can see him below.

Knight Helverin
Knight Helverin

In terms of gaming I have had a few more games in our 3rd Dominion Turf War for Necromunda with my Echoes of Ruin Orlock gang. We have just got to the mid-way stage where we recover before challenging for each others Turf. It has gone ok, some wins, some losses. I think Necromunda at the club has lost a bit of momentum with a few players (myself included) not being able to make it regularly enough to keep the momentum of the campaign going. However hopefully we should rap up this campaign and then I plan to a) try and get a few games of 40k in which I haven’t played in a fair while and b) play my first DnD campaign which I am really looking forward to. I am a big fan of Critical Role so hoping I will enjoy it.

Moving forwards…

Looking forwards I am not sure how regularly I will be posting but hopefully at least semi-regularly. Thanks to everyone for being patient with me as it has been some time! I am hoping to build the other Helverin and the Primaris Hellblasters soon and paint up the rest of the Kairic Acolytes as well as potentially another Warhammer Quest hero or two but we will see what time I can find to do this!

New Year Update!

So it’s now well into the New Year, happy 2019 everyone! So what have been up to over the Christmas period and in the beginning of this new year? Well I think I will save the majority of this for a new post that I will hopefully get up next week, but I picked up a few bits and pieces here and there including a certain new Warhammer Quest: Blackstone Fortress, as well as some additional extras for my Necromunda gangs, including some brand new heads for my Goliath and Orlock gangs as one of the club members managed to get down to the New Year Open Day and pick up some of the new bits for me and a few others.

I will say that although I got little (*read as no) painting done over the Christmas break, I have kickstarted the year with getting some models done already so hopefully this can continue!

Keep an eye out for my new post that will be coming out soon including a full update on all I have been up to since this article was originally meant to be posted (end of October).

Thanks everyone and remember, stay Miniature Minded!

Leave a comment