Time for some reflection

Time for some reflection

Hi guys,

So I thought now would be a good time to have a little reflection on my blog so far, how I feel it has been going, have I been hitting my own personal goals with it and so on.

Where it all began…

So I setup this blog and wrote my very first post for it way back in February. I have now been running it fairly consistently for the past 4 months or so and I have been really enjoying it!

My own personal goal from the very start of this process was to write about something I am passionate about, and also to encourage myself to be more accountable to the hobby I enjoy so much e.g. do more painting of the models I have! I have really enjoyed writing about the Miniature Wargaming hobby, both on system crossing subjects such as how to keep motivated in the hobby and also on system specific posts such as those about Warhammer Quest: The Silver Tower. I hope you have enjoyed reading them as much as I have enjoyed writing them and I know I have had some really nice comments and feedback on the blog so thank you to all who have left comments, in person on the blog!

Holding myself accountable to the hobby…

I feel that this is something that has gone really well so far with this blog. I can already say I have painted more in the last 4 months than I have in the past year or two and that for me has been a real success. There is nothing quite like playing with a fully painted army or even individual characters compared to the grey brigade that more often comes out!

Painting my Ad-Mech has been tough but it has been really rewarding too. I have really enjoyed painting them with their steampunk (ish) feel to them and just making them look so much better on the tabletop. Don’t get me wrong. I still have far more models to paint than I feel I will ever get round to but I am just trying to take it in bite sized chunks as I go. It is like a lot of things, if you look at everything you have to do it feels impossible, take it in small chunks and then it doesn’t seem so impossible.

My Local Gaming Club

Another thing that has been really great in keeping me motivated and helping me enjoy the hobby more is my local gaming club the Norman Cross Crusaders. I started attending the club just before the turn of the year but it has been a great experience to find a local gaming club where more people who enjoy the hobby congregate and play some games! I can’t tell you enough how much it has been a support to me, finding and making new friends for in and out of the hobby has been great and they have been very welcoming from the start so a big thank you to all of you guys who organise and run the club!

What’s next?

Who knows? I think over the last few weeks I have been letting myself down in not writing enough posts so I want to try and set some proper time aside each week to write a post as I have definitely had things to say!

Like I said, I have really enjoyed making this blog and the positive impact it has had on the hobby for me and I am looking forward to keeping it going over the coming months (and years hopefully!). With a lot of new products coming out and new games for me to try, I am hoping that this will be an exciting year ahead for the Games Workshop brand of miniature wargaming at the very least!

For all those that have started following me during this new venture please do let me know your thoughts on the blog, is there anything you would like to see more/less of, any ways I could improve the blog in your eyes? Let me know in the comments below as I would love to have some feedback from the most important people, the readers!

 

Leave a Reply

