Beautiful & Ugly, Chaos & Calm…

Beautiful & Ugly, Chaos & Calm…

It’s that time again for another post of my musings on the hobby and what has been on my mind this past week! So this week I am going to be discussing a few different things:

  1. Beautiful & Ugly: When some of your fantastic looking, perfectly fluffy models, just suck on the tabletop.
  2. Chaos & Calm: At the moment you can’t help but hear everyone freaking out about the incoming next edition of Warhammer 40k and the changes it will bring, hopefully I can bring some peace to the situation.
  3. On the Painting Table: As usual I will be giving an update on what’s been on my painting table and the progress I have made.

Beautiful & Ugly

One of things that I find really upsetting (ok in the grand scheme of things not that upsetting but still!) is that some of my favourite looking models just have the worst rules when it comes to the tabletop game. I am sure many of you have experienced this with your own armies as I have with all of my armies: Space Marines, Tyranids & Adeptus Mechanicus (I am in the process of building my Genestealer Cult and have yet to play them so have not added them to my list just yet).

Hopefully some of you read my latest battle report of my Ad-Mech alliance facing off against Adam’s Ravenwing. The notable unit that completely failed to do anything (this isn’t the first time) was my Fulgurite Electro-Priests.

admec_electro-priests_rte-copy_ml
These crazy fellas look awesome!

When I walked into my gaming club last week for this battle and opened up my case Adam (who is also an Ad-Mech player) exclaimed “wow, you have a whole bunch of those priests, why?” This isn’t the first time I have had to explain myself with these models. When I was building my Ad-Mech army I just looked at those models and though, they are fantastic models! I love the aesthetic of them, I think they match brilliantly with the fluff of the quasi-religious nature of the Adeptus Mechanicus and I wanted to add a unit of 10 of each to my expanding army.

Now don’t get me wrong, I knew before getting them that the general consensus was that they suck and are no way near worth their points value, having also watch the Miniwargaming review series on the Adeptus Mechanicus as well, MWG Steve had a very similar view-point to me. I love the models design wise, just why do they have to suck so much!?

Electro-Priests are not the only culprits however as I am sure you may well know. When the new batch of Tyranid units came out with the Baal campaign series, I though the new Toxicrene and Maleceptor models looked great, but yet again the consensus was they sucked on the tabletop. Space Marines less so but units like the Whirlwind which again I love the look of rarely get a look in on the tabletop.

Now I am not a power gamer, and have never been in a competitive tournament and only played friendly games really so this shouldn’t be much of an issue. It isn’t on a regular basis as I do enjoy playing with armies that are more fluff based than power based but sometimes it is just slightly frustrating that the models we love aren’t quite what they could be!

Let me know what you think about this and if there are any similar models that you have that you love but just don’t perform on the tabletop!

Chaos & Calm

So I couldn’t really go past this week without throwing in my 2 cents on the whole freak out the internet seems to be having over the upcoming 40k 8th Edition rule set and the changes that may or may not be incoming.

warhammer-40k-7th-edition-comic
Indeed…!

Now yes a number of rule changes or amends have been leaked by the staff at Adepticon and yes they may dramatically change the way we play 40k. But you know what? I don’t see this as a problem. I think it is good to change the rules every so often and if you really don’t like it then like a good friend told me “You have everything you need to play 7th Edition so if you don’t like it just keep playing that!”

Now I know to many that is not acceptable as eventually ‘your’ hobby will stop being supported with no new releases etc. However I think Games Workshop has been going in such a healthy direction lately, re-connecting with their fan base, pushing out boxed games like Bloodbowl and the upcoming Shadow War: Armageddon and generally being so much more open to their customers.

If you had asked me a year and a half ago I would not have trusted Games Workshop to get this right as they were so out of touch with their customers. Now I feel I can fully trust Games Workshop to get this right and that they are already working with some of big names in the industry to make sure the changes they make are the right ones.

I for one am excited for the future of 40k and I hope you can be too. But for now let’s try to bring a little peace to the situation. Just wait and see what the future holds, we can’t make any real judgements until 8th Edition has actually been released.

What’s on the Painting Table?

So this week I have been painting another Onager Dunewalker for my Adeptus Mechanicus army. I have magnetised my Onager so this week I managed to get all the weapon options, the base and legs completed. All I need to complete now is the ‘torso’. I am hoping to get a War Convocation painted up by the time the next tournament comes around at my local club as I have never entered one before but would like to give it a shot!

To that end I have also sprayed a unit of infiltrators to add to my models to paint so they will be next along with more Warhammer Quest heroes!

Let me know what you think below! That’s all for this week, I have another battle report to write-up so hopefully that will be added sometime next week!

6 thoughts on “Beautiful & Ugly, Chaos & Calm…

  1. Thanks man, I felt it was appropriate! Yes that is definitely another one that is super frustrating! I think 8th edition will have it’s people that throw their toys out of the pram, but equally I find a lot of it is often bluster and people move on into the new edition and still play even if they have said they won’t because of X and Y reasons.

    Thanks for the painting support! I definitely need it! Hoping to get the Dunecrawler finished soon (although I have a friend staying this weekend so it may not happen until next week) but the Imperial Knight is scaring me a bit in terms of completing my War Convocation. I have never painted something that big before and it is very intimidating! Think I will just have to break it down into smaller parts so I don’t feel overwhelmed. Fortunately it is magnetised so that is not too difficult!

    Like

    1. I have a knight too, I got it for Christmas but I have not even built it yet. I have a grand plan for it and thats putting me off it at the moment. I certainly need to do it in parts too. Have you magnetised the weapons on yours?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I have magnetised it so I can have any of the weapon combinations, I can out a post up showing where I out the magnets and what size etc sometime this weekend if that would help? It was easier than I thought it would be!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugly & Beautiful – I like the name. Also included here is the NMS (New Model Syndrome) where your new Super-Heavy is wrecked turn one by Necron Gauss. It happened to me.
    And here here to your outlook on 8th. I have seen the ew Shadow Wars rules, they were on Reddit, and if they are anything to go by 40K will change but there was nothing that set off alarm bells for me. I just want to be able to charge a 50 man blob with 5 Power Axes into Terminators and hit first! WIN!
    Keep up with the painting, do little and often is my moto. I will get there. https://twitter.com/CadianShock/status/847205635326390274

    Like

Leave a Reply

